Free Dreamweaver Templates from
Shri Bhau Maharaj Niturkar
Siddha Yog
(Maha Yog)
Click to know moreGeneral Outlines of the SIDDHA YOGA
The importance of the Life Force (Prana)
The SIDDHA YOGA - Initiation
The Distinguishing Features of this Path
The Easy Path of the SIDDHA YOGA
ShaktiPat Yoga dikha Initiation


The theory and practice of the SIDDHA YOGA explained clearly in the BHAGAWAT GEETA:

The theory and practice of the SIDDHA YOGA have been stated in the following verse of the
sixth chapter of the GEETA:

“An aspirant should gradually cease from action by means of his intellect sustained by steadiness and by fixing the mind on the self (Life Force), he should think of nothing else” – (verse – 25):

In this verse the LORD KRISHNA advises aspirants that the slow and gradual pacing of the Spiritual practice is useful. For undue haste in this practice will not yield desired fruits.

In one of his immortal verses, the same type of advice is given by the SAINT Shri Tukaram Maharaj:

Undue haste in this path would not be fruitful; you have to wait till the proper time comes”

The progress of an aspirant in the Spiritual practice is gradual. Therefore the Spiritual practice of meditation should be performed daily and steadily. LORD SHIVA the founder, exponent of this path is still a pilgrim treading this path..” and always remains absorbed in the thoughtless state of mind. He persists in following this path even today. States Jnaneshwar in his book JNANESWARI chapter six, verse no. 153:

In the practice of meditation idleness should be avoided. After having initiated for a couple of years when the practice of meditation does not yield apparent result, one may naturally feel how long  he has to continue the meditation in the pursuit of Spiritual progress. The above description about the meditation of LORD SHIVA should always be borne in mind. Initially all the activities intended for purification work slowly. Aspirants with steadfast state of mind should watch patiently the actions which take place automatically by the influence of the Serpent Power (Divine Power). The iron-wired brush cannot be used for washing the clothes. Undue haste is harmful. The Spiritual practice (meditation) should be performed with great patience.

  1. Four stages attained by the followers of the SIDDHA YOGA; during their practice of meditation.
    1. The Initial Stage (Arambha-avastha)

In the initial stage, the Serpent Power being awakened starts her work with physical movements of yogic postures which an aspirant involuntarily experiences during the meditation. These physical postures are in the form of Assanas, Bandhas, (Locking of certain limbs of the body preventing the movement of breath) and breath-control (Pranayam). They help to purify nerves. Yogic exercises in the form of physical postures bring steadiness in the body, while Bandhas and Mudras make the body firm. Bandha and breath-control (Pranayam) bring lightness in the body. Purification of the nerves maintains proper balance of the fluids and the elements of cough, gas and bile in the body.

    1. Second Stage  (Ghata-avastha):

In this second stage the worldly desires get slowly decreased (subdued) and an aspirant, who constantly remembers the Almighty, remains in the holy atmosphere and pleasant mood that leads him slowly towards a detachment from worldly attraction. As both of these stages are intermingled with each other, the path of the Serpent Power (Divine Power) towards the Sahasrara becomes easy and simple. This also brings automatic control over the breath and stability of mind.

    1. Third Stage (Parichaya-avastha)

In this stage the Serpent Power (Divine Power) making the Life Force (Prana) stable in the heart, remains herself merged with the LORD SHIVA in the Sahasrara. Therefore, the aspirant attains an extremely motionless state of the body. Consequently the seeker achieves the serenity of mind and slowly attains the stage of a siddha which enables him to possess extra ordinary powers. The yogi feels fulfilment of his life’s goal. Having attained this stage, the yogi can awaken the Serpent Power of other aspirants. The knots of his heart being unfolded, all his doubts are dispelled. The knowledge of such a yogi doesn’t remain by any means concealed. As he has seen the path of Brahmaloaka, he straightaway goes to the Satyaloka after his death.

    1. The Fourth Stage (Nishpati-avastha):

In this stage, the Serpent Power (Divine Power) merges into LORD SHIVA the real support. The yogi attains the stage of liberation, - the stage of perfection.



<<-Previous Page


Free Dreamweaver Templates from